Event Details

About Event

If you want to win something, run 100 meters, if you want to experience something, run a marathon.
- Emil Zatopek
The Journey so far

The Indiabulls Home loans Vasai-Virar Mayor's Marathon (IBVVMM) started as a state level event in 2011 and has grown into one of the country's premier National level running event, offering the highest prize money for Indian athletes, both professional and amateur. With the scenic beauty of Vasai-Virar, strategically placed cheering zones and excellent facilities to the runners, IBVVMM offers one of the best-running experiences in India.

Conceptualized by Aryanz Sports PR and Events for the Vasai-Virar City Municipal Corporation, IBVVMM came under the aegis of the Athletic Federation of India (AFI) in 2012.

IBVVMM has four timed categories: Full Marathon (42.195km), Half Marathon (21.097km), 11km Open Run, 5 km Open Run and Dhamaal Dhav (4km). Besides these, the IBVVMM also four offers a unique opportunity for running groups called the Battle Run, offering attractive prize money.

In its first edition, IBVVMM started with 700 participants and currently has in excess of 18,000 runners across various categories. The IBVVMM offers prize money in excess of Rs 50 Lacs. There is a separate prize money fund for participants from the Vasai-Virar Taluka region.

The event attracts some of India's finest athletes with names like G Lakshmanan, Lyngkhoi Bining, Elam, Singh, Deep Chand, Sanvroo Yadav, Shoji Mathew, Lalita Babbar, Kavita Raut, Sudha Singh and Monika Athare who have participated in the past.

The event has also been graced by personalities from different walks of life. Sporting legends like Sachin Tendulkar, Dhanraj Pillay, Anju Bobby George, P T Usha, Shiny Wilson, Wrestlers Sushil Kumar & Yogeshwar Dutt, Archer Deepika Kumari to Bollywood celebrities like Riteish Deshmukh, Mahima Choudhary and a host of Marathi film and television luminaries have been guests of honour at the event. The first four years has seen Actor, Model, and Running Enthusiast Milind Soman as the 'Face of the Event'. Actors Rahul Bose and Mandira Bedi were the event ambassadors for the 2017 edition while Star Sprinter Dutee Chand had graced the occasion in 2018.

Race day information
Read more